NCTA began October 31, 1980 with Gordon Ervin, President; Ed Dalton, Vice president; David Cook, Treasurer; Nancy Bridge, Secretary; and other members Neil Hamilton, Anne Katona, Paul Reece, and Bill Woodard.

The following also joined prior to January 1981 thus becoming charter members as well: Bob Bridge, William Caffey, Wilma Carter, Carole Cason, Paul Good, Jean Heath, James Kane, Bernice Kossow, Jane Kuska, Russ & Georgia McRae, Sara Pekarsky, Rosemary Schemele, John Shelton, Carol Simonds, Ehren Webster, and Nancy Wolf.

The Objectives of NCTA shall be: (a) to encourage and promote the excellence in the breeding of pure-bred Terriers and to do all possible to bring their natural qualities to perfection. (b) to educate members, breeders and judges to accept the Standard of the breeds as approved by the American Kennel Club. (c) to do all in its power to protect and advance the interests of the Terrier breeds and to encourage sportsmanlike competition at dog shows and obedience trials. (d) to conduct sanctioned matches, speciality shows and obedience trials under the rules of the American Kennel Club.

On April 13, 1984, NCTA held the first cluster specialty show at Cal Expo Fairgrounds in Sacramento. The first show consisted of eight breed club specialities – California Airedale Terrier Club, Inc, Fox Terrier Club of Northern California, Irish Terrier Club of Northern California, Kerry Blue Terrier Club of Northern California, United States Lakeland Terrier Club, Miniature Schnauzer Club of Northern California, Inc, Skye Terrier Club of America.

It was in 1991 when Best in Sweeps was added to the show slate.

April 12, 1996 was a monumental day for NCTA – it was NCTA’s first All-Terrier Group Show. Bernice Kossow made all of the table runners in celebration of this achievement (these runners are still being used today).

April 2000 was NCTA’s first back-to-back shows.

The following is a list of our Best of Group Winners: